Don’t be afraid to look stupid!

New to FAFE?

Check out the post from yesterday and find out why I’m embarking on facing a fear everyday!

Stupid

We hate to feel embarrassed, humiliated or to feel stupid, don’t we?

Throughout life, I have always been the shy and quiet type.

My report cards would come back with good grades but often with the comment: ‘doesn’t put her hand up in class’.

Why?

Whether in the classroom or in the real-world, we learn to fear ‘being wrong’ and this I guess is partly why, when I was a lot younger, I refrained from participating for fear of

  1. Asking a ridiculous question OR
  2. Replying with a completely incorrect answer.

Slowly though, in time as most children do, I realised that being too afraid to speak up was in fact counter-productive and detrimental to my own growth.

We learn through making mistakes, and one of the most important lessons I have learnt is to not take life so seriously.

Don’t get me wrong. Of course there are issues which need serious attention. However, there are certain situations where one needs to let go of a particular outcome and let things be.

Appearing stupid after asking a foolish question is one of them.

If you never ask, you’ll never know so why regret the decision?!

Today’s FAFE theme is in keeping with the above.

There are times when you want to ask intelligent questions (but they don’t come across as!)

There are times when you ask a person a question that you actually already know the answer to (yes, admit it, you’ve done that before…!)

and then there are those times when you ask a question that you really should know the answer to but don’t (and hence may end up looking a little ignorant).

My question asking went something a bit like this:

3/10: were intelligent (ish!) questions

3/10: I already knew the answer to

…and 4/10 I most definitely did not and *may* have ended up looking a bit stupid.

HOWEVER, moral of the story is that I’m glad I asked ALL of the questions since I have come away with a better knowledge of the subject.

So Today: Go on. Be Brave.

Ask the question that you’ve been meaning to.

Face the fear of looking stupid…and do it anyway. 

The Asian Destination Links

Follow The Asian Destination on Twitter: @theasiand

‘Like’ us on Facebook: facebook.com/theasiandestination

Follow us on Instagram: @theasiandestination

The Asian Destination Links

Follow The Asian Destination on Twitter: @theasiand

‘Like’ us on Facebook: facebook.com/theasiandestination

Follow us on Instagram: @theasiandestination

 

 

Leave a Reply

